Hanging jewelry boxes made from old picture frames

Budget:

  • $0 for picture frames (already had)
  • $4 for wrapping paper
  • ~$8 for all screw hooks
  • $5 for spray paint

Time:

  • about an hour including dry time

I originally saw the idea from the now-not-in-publication Blueprint magazine.  (aw, how I miss it.)

I had some basic IKEA frames from before that I no longer use.  While choosing frames, you’d want one that has some depth.  The shallow frames that you usually see in stores don’t work as well.  Find something that’s like the “shadow box” or “display box”.

Step 1: wipe the original frame clean.  If you don’t like the original color, paint it with something that works with your paper color/pattern.  I spray painted mine red.

Step 2: take out the cardboard backings that came with the frames.

Step 3: cut the wrapping paper to slightly bigger than the cardboard backing.  Wrap the cardboard and secure it with tape, like you’re wrapping a present.

Step 4: screw in the hooks on the front side.  Place them at spaces that work for your jewelry lengths and widths.

Accessories shadow box (4)

Step 5: put the finished cardboard backs into the frames.  Then hang them on the wall!

I put my next to the mirror above my dressing, so I have the whole area like my vanity. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Hanging jewelry boxes made from old picture frames

Leave a Reply

